Tax Liens in Florida – 12 with asking prices from $5,500 – $75,000
Tax Liens in Georgia – 29 with asking prices from $12,900 – $49,900
Tax Liens in Virginia – 13 with asking prices from $18,000 – $46,900
That is the asking, you could probably get these if you purchase in bulk for 50% or less of the asking. Ask us about the properties, and see what gems you can pull out of the darkness.
Fulton County Georgia Tax Deeds – Redemption Period
Rights of Redemption
Rights of Redemption and the Amount Payable for Redemption
When real property is sold at a tax sale, whether to an individual or to Fulton County, the owner, creditor, or any person having an interest in the property may redeem the property from the holder of the tax deed.
After July 1, 2002, the owner, creditor, or any other person with interest in the property, must pay the tax deed purchaser, the amount paid for the property at tax sale, plus 20% premium for the first year or fraction of a year, plus any taxes paid on the property by the purchaser after the sale, plus any special assessment on the property, and a 10% premium of the amount for each year or fraction of a year, which has elapsed since the date of sale plus costs. A premium of 20% must also be paid when Fulton County is the purchaser (O.C.G.A.§ 48-4-42).
The owner, creditor, or any other person with an interest in the property may redeem the property at anytime during the twelve (12) months following the tax sale. The purchaser of the tax deed cannot take actual possession of the property during this time and the tax deed purchaser is not authorized to receive rents or make any improvements to any structure on the property or grade any lot prior to this time.
When the property has been redeemed (all monies due the purchaser paid as prescribed by law), the purchaser shall then issue a quitclaim deed to the owner of the property (as stated on the Fi.fa.) releasing the property from tax deed.
This redemption of the property shall put the title conveyed by the tax sale back to the owner, subject to all liens that existed at the time of the tax sale. If the redemption was made by any creditor of the owner or by any person having any interest in the property, the amount expended by the creditor or the person interested shall constitute a first lien on the property (O.C.G.A.§ 48-4-21, 48-4-40, 48-4-41, 48-4-42, 48-4-43, and 48-4-44).
Clay County Florida Tax Certificates
Delinquent taxes must be paid with certified funds (cash, credit card (2.39% fee), cashiers check or money order); no personal checks accepted. The date payment is received in the office determines the amount due.
All unpaid real estate taxes become delinquent on April 1 each year, with a 3% penalty added to the taxes. In the month of May, the delinquent taxes are advertised in the local newspaper once a week for three (3) consecutive weeks before a tax certificate sale is held following the payment deadline.
On or before June 1, the Tax Collector is required by law to hold a tax certificate sale. The certificates represent a lien on all unpaid real estate properties. The sale allows citizens to buy a certificate by paying off the owed tax debt. The sale is conducted in reverse auction style with participants bidding downward on interest rates starting at 18%. The certificate is awarded to the lowest bidder. Please click here for more information concerning tax certificates and the potential consequences if they are not redeemed by the property owner.
All unpaid tangible personal property becomes delinquent on April 1 each year, with 1.5% interest added each month, plus a collection fee of $10.00. On May 1st, a collection fee of 20% of the gross tax is added to the tax bill. Within 45 days of delinquency, the Tax Collector is required to advertise in the local newspaper all unpaid personal property taxes for one week. If the taxes remain unpaid, a warrant will be issued by the Tax Collector on June 1. Within 30 days of the warrant being issued, the Tax Collector applies to the Courts for a hearing to be held to ratify warrants which enables a Tax Collector to seize and sell personal property for non-payment of taxes.
On April 1 of each year, the current year of real estate taxes become delinquent. If the taxes remain unpaid after the advertising period has expired, a certificate for the unpaid taxes can be sold at auction. This sale takes place on or before June 1 of the year they become delinquent. Those certificates not sold at auction are held by Clay County where they may accrue interest until paid. Certificates can later be purchased by individual buyers from the county according to the rules and laws governing delinquent taxes.